LC’s speech team wins connersville invitational

Lawrence Central’s speech team, under the direction of Julie Alexander, took first place in the Varsity division at Connersville’s invitational speech tournament Nov. 3.

Trophies were given to the top five teams in Varsity (15 or fewer entries) and to the top five in Super Varsity (15+ entries). With 12 competitors, LC was in the Varsity division.

A team receives an allotted number of “sweepstakes” points for each student who places in the top 10 of their individual event after completing four consecutive rounds of competition. There are 13 different events: Congress, Dramatic or Humorous Interp, International or Domestic Extemp, Duo Interp, Radio Broadcasting, Poetry, Original Oratory, Prose, Impromptu, Di! scussion, Declamation, and Original Performance. A student who champions his event earns 10 sweeps points; 2nd place finish is 9 sweeps points; etc.  There were 20 teams at Connersville; 16 were Varsity.
LC senior Zachary Rohrbach championed in Congress. This event is exactly what it sounds like – a session of National Forensic League Congress. There are bills presented that the “representatives” either pass or fail. There is a parliamentarian and a presiding officer. Students must give their affirmative or negative speeches for each bill and then there is one minute of cross examination.

Senior Alexa Dorris was in a three-way tie for first place in Dramatic Interp and ended up placing 3rd in that event. Junior Ryan Borer placed 2nd in his first attempt at Inte! rnational Extemp. Others LC speakers placing in the top 10 were senior Amie Bayon – 3rd in Discussion; sophomore Madeline Brock – 5th in Discussion; senior Ben Boruff – 4th in Original Oratory; junior Rachel Bayon – 4th in Congress; and sophomore Liz Wheeler – 7th in Congress.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Geist Stories

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Send me your media kit!

hbspt.forms.create({ portalId: "6486003", formId: "5ee2abaf-81d9-48a9-a10d-de06becaa6db" });