• Arts & Entertainment
  • Audio
  • Automotive
  • Banks
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Beauty & Spa
  • Boating
  • Breweries - Wineries
  • Business
  • Childcare
  • Churches
  • Construction
  • Cultural
  • Education
  • Entertainment
  • Event Venues
  • Farm
  • Fitness
  • Food
  • Funeral Homes
  • Golf
  • Health & Medical
  • Home & Garden
  • Home Services
  • Horseshoeing
  • Hotel - Bed + Breakfasts
  • Hunting & Outdoors
  • Library
  • Nonprofit
  • Parks
  • Pets
  • Real Estate
  • Security
  • Shopping
  • Transportation
  • Wedding Planner

Welcome to Avon: Aaron Tevebaugh

Writer / Aaron Tevebaugh
Avon Town Council President

Whether you are a lifelong Avon resident or have implanted yourself here over the last few years, there always seems to be mass confusion regarding the structure and operation of our local government. So, as we look to warm weather and begin to get out and about around the town, I thought it may be helpful to provide a quick overview of the Town of Avon.

I am joined on the Avon Town Council by Vice-President Steve Eisenbarth along with council members Beverly Austin, Marcus Turner and Greg Zusan. The town council meets on the second and fourth Thursdays of the month at 7 p.m. at Avon Town Hall. Joining us as elected officials are the town clerk-treasurer Sharon Howell and the town judge Maureen Owen. 

The daily operations of town business are handled by the town manager Mr. Tom Klein, and he is assisted by an entire staff as well as two department heads, Ryan Cannon and Jodi Dickey.  Mr. Cannon is responsible for parks and public works, while Mrs. Dickey oversees the offices of planning, building and zoning.

Last, but not least, we have our police department that is responsible for all law enforcement within the town limits. Led by Chief of Police Sean Stoops and Assistant Chief Brian Nugent, our police department answers on average approximately 14,000 calls for service per year within the town while also assisting the various surrounding public safety agencies.

Assisting the Avon Town Council are the various boards and commissions, which are staffed with volunteers from our community. Some of the appointments to the boards and commissions are made by the council as a whole and others by the council president.

The Avon Boards and Commissions include the Re-Development Commission, which is responsible for managing the Tax Increment Finance or TIF Fund, the Advisory Plan Commission, which oversees policies regarding growth and development of the community, the Economic Development Commission, the Board of Zoning Appeals, which hears and votes on requests for zoning variances, the Police Merit Board, which is responsible for codifying all hiring, promotions and discipline for the Avon Police Department, and the Parks, Recreation and Beautification Council, which makes recommendations to the town council regarding parks, trails and green space.

A complete description of all the Town of Avon departments as well as boards and commissions can be found on our website at avongov.org.

I hope this brief overview has been helpful. If you have any questions, comments or concerns I can always be reached by email at atevebaugh@avongov.org.

Have a great spring!

Leave a Comment

Send me your media kit!

hbspt.forms.create({ portalId: "6486003", formId: "5ee2abaf-81d9-48a9-a10d-de06becaa6db" });