Photography Provided

ScholarshipsCori Korn, executive director of the Lawrence Township School Foundation (LTSF), says the foundation has awarded the 2020 scholarships for Lawrence North (LN) and Lawrence Central (LC) students.

The students selected to receive the scholarship money are chosen because of their great work and accomplishments.

“A scholarship committee reviews all applicants and awards the student who best meets the scholarship’s requirements,” Korn says. “The committee is made up of volunteers who are former educators, current educators and community members.”

The scholarships are awarded to students who achieved their goals.

“All scholarships recognize student accomplishments and help offset the expenses associated with pursuing post-secondary education,” Korn says.

The foundation’s commitment to student success expands as the students become lifelong learners.

“The mission of the LTSF is to connect community and classrooms to provide the resources needed for all students to succeed,” Korn says. “LTSF scholarships encourage students to continue their education and follow their dreams.”

Korn adds that the foundation has awarded more than $526,000 in scholarships to college-bound seniors in the MSD of Lawrence Township since 1986.

“Most LTSF scholarships are endowed and were established to honor their namesakes,” Korn says. “Today, this endowment opportunity has expanded to include initiatives that impact current students while honoring the namesake.”

Korn says that this year, $40,000, plus two laptops were awarded to LC and LN students and alumni.

Congratulations to the following recipients, which include the Dwaine C. Bell Memorial Scholarship winners, Katherine Burgin (LN), and Nicolas Taylor (LN).

ScholarshipsThe LC recipients were to be announced at the Athletic Awards Night.

The Peggy Bender Legacy Scholarship went to Anna Florczak (LN), while the Bridge Fund AVID Scholarship went to Fiorella Cardenas (LN) and Merissa Dew. (LC).

The Cohron’s Manufactured Homes Scholarship went to Liberty Hudson (LC), and Yahiry Xique (LN). The Richard H. Crosser Memorial Scholarship Fund went to Nick Hamersly (LN).

The Daniel H. & Joan FitzGibbon Scholarship went to Kaniya Hester – second year (LC), and Maya Caselnova (LN) and Monica Williams (LC).

The Marilyn Hammer-Niehaus & Carol Hammer-Furry Scholarship went to Jessica Carroll – second year (LC); the Ronald Klene Scholarship was awarded to Margarita Cuaya (LN); and the Lawrence Township Basketball League Scholarship went to Aiden McMonagle (LC), and Nick Hamersly (LN).

The Ed Martin Legacy Fund Scholarship went to Allawndez Tomasello, (LC); the Michael J. and Alisa A. McGlothlin Scholarship was awarded to Trissa Ampil (LN); and the Debra Porterfield Legacy Scholarship was given to William McGrew (LC).

The Edger C. Seitz, Jr./Scott A. Seitz Endowed Scholarship Fund was awarded to Bethany Dayton (LN), Jaela Melton (LC), Lauren Newell – second year (LN), Mikayla Stephens – second year  (LC), Zaheen Rashed (LN), and Zarah Khan (LN).

The Spanish Immersion Scholarship Fund went to Maleah Means (LN) and Nick Taylor (LN). The John H. Stewart III Foundation Scholarship went to Kelly Matsuoka (LN).

The DJ Tamer Memorial Scholarship went to Caroline Salvas (LN); the Deb Williams Scholarship went to Ja’Sha Jones (LC); and the Kristan Leah Wilson Scholarship Fund went to Myah Clayborn (LC).

Congratulations to all scholarship recipients!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Geist Stories

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Send me your media kit!

hbspt.forms.create({ portalId: "6486003", formId: "5ee2abaf-81d9-48a9-a10d-de06becaa6db" });