HSE honors educators for service, names district Teacher of the Year

Hamilton Southeastern Schools honored teachers for service and announced the district’s Teacher of the Year at a breakfast at HSEHS.

Geist second grade teacher Debra Ramos is the HSE Teacher of the Year and will represent the district in the state competition.

“She is one of those teachers who lives and breathes for her students. She goes above and beyond always!” said Geist Principal Kelly Jackson. “She’s awesome! Deb does so much in her classroom and our school, but she is also very involved in our community.”

Other “building” Teachers of the Year include Heather Hall, HSE Junior High; Julie Vairo, Fall Creek Elementary; Leslie Hopper, Brooks School Elementary; Pamela Cutcliff, Riverside School; Steve Heiniger, Fishers Junior High; Vickie Hudson, Cumberland Road Elementary; Kathleen Robeson, Fishers High School; Mary Armstrong, Hamilton Southeastern High School; Linda Hill, Hoosier Road Elementary; Agnes Pugel, Fishers Elementary; Linn Aschenbach, Sand Creek Elementary; Joni Curia, Lantern Road Elementary; Nancy Racine, New Britton Elementary; Jenifer McCormick, Durbin Elementary; Deneice Mathias-Jarrett, Harrison Parkway Elementary; Don Koewers, Fall Creek Intermediate; and Chris Hamon, Sand Creek Intermediate.

In addition, the district honored retiring educators including Rick Balser, Fishers/HSE High Schools technology education teacher, with over 33 years in the HSE corporation; Trudy Baldwin, Durbin Elementary second grade teacher, 33 years; Melinda Roberts, Fishers Elementary third grade teacher, 28 years; Joyce Tindall, Fall Creek Intermediate fifth grade language arts and math teacher, 27 years; Jan Quick, Fishers Junior High math teacher, 21 years; Darlene Trusty, Sand Creek Intermediate sixth grade language arts teacher, 19 years; Jeri Fork, HSE High School English teacher, 15 years; and Judith Varner, Sand Creek Intermediate guidance counselor, 14 years.
Recognized for 30 years of service were Betty Anderson, Durbin Elementary third grade teacher; Susie Cantlon, Durbin Elementary Title I reading teacher; Bob Gabbert, HSE High School art teacher; Diane Ryan, Sand Creek Intermediate sixth grade teacher; and Tom Younts, HSE/Fishers High Schools agriculture/science teacher. Earning 20-year awards were Victoria Achelpohl, Sand Creek Intermediate sixth grade teacher; Martha Dafnos, Riverside School music teacher; Wanda Hartzell, Fishers Junior High physical education teacher; Charles Hoover, HSE High School interim principal; Judy Kaade, Fall Creek Elementary second grade teacher; Denise Morrissey, Riverside School science teacher; Linda Steffen, HSE Junior High special education teacher; Sandra VanWynsberghe, Fall Creek Elementary second grade teacher; and Ann Vollmar, New Britton Elementary third grade teacher.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Fishers Stories

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Send me your media kit!

hbspt.forms.create({ portalId: "6486003", formId: "5ee2abaf-81d9-48a9-a10d-de06becaa6db" });