• Arts & Entertainment
  • Audio
  • Automotive
  • Banks
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Beauty & Spa
  • Boating
  • Breweries - Wineries
  • Business
  • Childcare
  • Churches
  • Construction
  • Cultural
  • Education
  • Entertainment
  • Event Venues
  • Farm
  • Fitness
  • Food
  • Funeral Homes
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Health & Medical
  • Home & Garden
  • Home Services
  • Horseshoeing
  • Hotel - Bed + Breakfasts
  • Hunting & Outdoors
  • Library
  • Nonprofit
  • Parks
  • Pets
  • Polo Club
  • Public Pools
  • Real Estate
  • Security
  • Shopping
  • Transportation
  • Wedding Planner

Heather Meunier Named ACSC Teacher of the Year

Avon Community School Corporation’s Andy Mohr Teacher of the Year is Mrs. Heather Meunier. She teaches Honors/AP English at Avon High School. Mrs. Meunier was presented with the award by Andy Mohr Automotive CEO Andy Mohr. She was selected by a committee comprised of local community members.

Mrs. Meunier has taught at Avon High School during her entire 10-year teaching career. She is the co-founder and sponsor of the Interact (Rotary) Club. She is a past recipient of the Joseph B. Whitehead Educator of Distinction Award and Seniors Choice Award. She is known for being an involved and caring educator. One of her students noted, “Mrs. Meunier took the time to make a PowerPoint presentation at the end of the year to tell everyone what she likes about them. She paid attention to us as individuals and got to know us.”

In addition to a generous cash gift, a crystal award and plaque, Mrs. Meunier will receive a cash award from the Sharon Pinnick Educational Fund, (Hendricks County Community Foundation), a membership at the Hendricks Regional Health YMCA, as well as a floral arrangement from McNamara Florist. 

The other candidates (who were previously selected as their school building’s Teachers of the Year) included: Cory Falk (Avon Middle School North), Kim Shambaugh (Avon Middle School South), Kyle Slaven (Avon Intermediate School East), Laura Kaiser (Avon Intermediate School West), Allegra Donelson (Cedar Elementary), Emily Waggoner (Hickory Elementary), Dana George (Maple Elementary), Brenda Allspaw (Pine Tree Elementary), Dawn Alexander (River Birch Elementary); Ashley Porter (Sycamore Elementary); and Kristen Isbell (White Oak Elementary).

Avon Community School Corporation submitted Mrs. Meunier’s dynamic portfolio to the Indiana Department of Education for the state’s selection process of the Indiana Teacher of the Year award.

Avon Community School Corporation (ACSC) is committed to providing an enriched learning environment which prepares students for their futures. The Avon Experience includes community service, project-based learning (particularly in STEAM subjects), participation and accomplishments in the arts as well as increased engagement in Advanced Placement (AP), dual credit college classes and career and technical education. More than 9,500 students are served in grades Pre-K-12 in 12 schools (seven elementary, two intermediate, two middle and one high school). Visit the ACSC website at avon-schools.org.

Leave a Comment

Send me your media kit!

hbspt.forms.create({ portalId: "6486003", formId: "5ee2abaf-81d9-48a9-a10d-de06becaa6db" });